A new PeakCare Board has been formed for 2018. At PeakCare’s Annual General Meeting held on 6 December 2017, Voting Delegates of our Member organisations re-elected Ms Sally Kelynack (UnitingCare Queensland) to serve a further two-year term and newly elected Ms Janet Wight (Youth Advocacy Centre) and Mr Darren Young (Mission Australia).  Ms Wight and Mr Young both previously served as co-opted (non-voting) Members on the Board during 2017.

They now join sitting Members – Ms Cara Benoit (yourtown), Mr Kieran Smith (Act for Kids), Ms Leith Sterling (The Benevolent Society) and Ms Kathryn Woods (Creche and Kindergarten Association) – who were elected to the Board in 2016.

PeakCare congratulates Ms Kelynack, Ms Wight and Mr Young on their election to the Board and sincerely thanks all candidates for their interest and offers of service to PeakCare. As noted by a number of speakers at the Annual General Meeting, there was again this year a greater number of candidates than vacancies on the Board. This speaks volumes about the commitment and generosity of this year’s candidates and those from previous years who have voluntarily offered their time, experience, wisdom and skills in supporting the work of PeakCare.

PeakCare also thanks all who served on the Board during all or parts of 2017. In addition to the previously mentioned Board Members who were elected in 2016, this includes Ms Shelley Wall, Mr Andy Harman and Mr Brad Swan.

To access and read PeakCare’s Annual Report for 2016-2017, click here. Among other highlights, the President’s Report notes that PeakCare lodged over 13 written submissions – more than one a month – to various entities, co-hosted numerous practice symposiums and workshops, introduction of the Hope and Healing by Design workshops throughout Queensland and the Over 1,000 Voices residential care staff survey, released an updated version of the Roundtables Roadtrip Report 2016, and established the “Ice Bank” as a prelude to the “Just Ice?” Symposium held in August.